CMAS Courses


CMAS  One Star Diver is an entry level diving certification issued by the Confédération Mondiale des Activités Subaquatiques (CMAS).

The CMAS One Star Diver course can vary somewhat between different countries, but here in DIVETALIA we have the following minimum requirements

– 8 open water dives

-4 theory sessions that explains basis of dive theory

-practical lessons of learning how to assemble and use your scuba gear

Knowledge of basic diving theory is covered by video and instructor presentations, diving skills are developed in confined water and open water under the supervision of your instructor. As CMAS One Star Diver you will have theoretical knowledge about: basic gear, basic diving signs, pressure-volume relations, diving physics, diving physiology, first aid, safe diving applications, underwater life and diving tables.

After the course, a CMAS One Star Diver certificate holder should be ready to engage in open water scuba diving in the company of an experienced scuba diver.

The CMAS One  Star Diver certificate is for scuba diving down to 18 meters.


Prerequisites of CMAS One Star Diver Course

-Being able to swim

-Medically fit for scuba diving

-Time commitment of 4 days


You are already a CMAS One Star Diver (or qualifying certification) and completed 20 logged dives, then it is time to improve your diving experience and skills. Take CMAS Two Star Diver Course and learn how to approach and handle critical situations under water and on the surface.

The course will take 8 dives over 4 days. Your first dives will be refreshment of CMAS One Star Diver underwater practical skills. In this course you are requisited to have practical dives in open water such as deep dive, underwater navigation and rescue procedures. These dives will cover following skills:

During your two star rescue dive you need to practice the skills listed below:

  • Self-rescue and coping with diver stress
  • How to use an emergency oxygen kit.
  • Appying first aid
  • Swimming and non-swimming rescue techniques
  • Emergency management
  • Panicked diver response
  • Missing diver procedures
  • Surfacing the unconscious diver
  • In-water rescue breathing protocols
  • Emergency Exits
  • First aid procedures for pressure related accidents
  • Dive accident scenarios

During your two star navigation dive you need to practice the skills listed below:

  • Navigation patterns
  • Natural navigation
  • Compass navigation while making turns
  • How to “mark” or relocate a submerged object or position from the surface
  •  Underwater map making
  • Dive site relocation
  • Methods to estimate distance underwater


You will also have the theory lessons about:

  • Diving related illnesses
  • First aid and rescue
  • Air consumption calculation
  • Nitrogen absorption
  • Deep diving
  • The use of decompression tables
  • Dive planning and organization
  • Underwater navigation

Prerequisites of CMAS Two Star Diver Course

  • Cmas One Star Diver certificate (or qualifying certification)
  • 20 logged dives
  • Time commitment of 4 days


You are a CMAS Two Star diver (or qualifying certification) who have a good level of diving knowledge and experience, after performing 50 logged dives  now is the time to take it a step further.

A CMAS Three Star Diver (dive leader) is a recreational diving role which includes organising and leading recreational dives, particularly in a professional capacity, and is a qualification used throughout most of the world in recreational scuba diving for a diver who has supervisory responsibility for a group of divers and as a dive guide.

A CMAS Three Star Diver (dive leader) is the title of the first professional rating of many training agencies. . A CMAS Three Star Diver (Dive Leader) is generally equivalent to the requirements of international Standard ISO 24801-3 Dive Leader.

CMAS Three Star Diveleaders are divers who have decided to take their diving to a professional level.  A diveleader is someone who can take charge of diving activities and assist an instructor in the training of other divers.

 This is the first step in your dive career and you can work towards becoming an Instructor.

CMAS Three Star Diveleaders are mentors and guides and lead the way to amazement, wonder and

beauty of underwater world. CMAS Three Star Diveleaders have to know their stuff. Through knowledge

development sessions, waterskill exercises and workshops, and hands-on practical assessment, as a CMAS Three Star Diveleader you not only develop the skills to organize and direct a variety of scuba diving activities but also you hone your own personal skills and knowledge and become a role model  other divers will look up to.

CMAS Three Star Diveleaders can


  • Supervise diving activities and lead guided dives
  • Assist scuba classes
  • Conduct dive briefings
  • pursue diving career opportunities both at home or abroad
  • Continue their professional development career by becoming CMAS One Star Instructor

To earn your Diveleader rating, you will complete a series of knowledge development sessions, water skill workshops, and hands-on assessments including the following topics:

  • Supervising dive activities and assisting with student divers
  • Diver safety and risk management
  • Learning how to manage business of diving
  • Awareness of the dive environment
  • Dive gear setup and management for other divers
  • Mapping an open water site
  • Conducting dive briefings
  • Organizing a search and recovery project and a deep dive

Prerequisites of CMAS Three Star Diver Course

  • Cmas Two Star certificate (or qualifying certification)
  • Minimum 18 years old
  • 50 logged scuba dives
  • three specialities that are deep dive, navigation and first aid including CPR applications
  • Medically cleared for diving by a physician within 12 months


In CMAS organization there are means for divers to explore interest in specific diving activities. While taking CMAS specialities you can improve your knowledge in certain fields of diving. All speciality courses also act as a foundation for further dive certifications. CMAS offers you the following speciality courses on the way to become a confident, skilled and safe diver. For more information about CMAS speciality courses, please contact with DIVETALIA Office. Here are the specialities CMAS offers.

  • First Aid
  • Deep Diving
  • Night Diving
  • Altitude Diving
  • Current Diving
  • Wreck Diving
  • Navigation
  • Search and Rescue
  • Underwater Photography
  • Underwater Videography
  • Peak Performance Buoyancy
  • Introductory Diving
  • Enriched Air (Nitrox)
  • Oxygen Use
  • Cavern Diving
  • Tank Filling
  • Equipment Information and Maintenance